Commitment Excellence

Impact in Leadership for Texas Mathematics

Debbie Perry, District Coordinator of Elementary Mathematics for Midway ISD, was selected by the Southern Methodist University (SMU) Research in Mathematics Education (RME) unit to receive the Impact in Leadership award at the 5th Annual Research-to-Practice Conference on February 19, 2016.  The award is presented to educational leaders who have demonstrated commitment to cultivating the research-to-practice relationship through implementation of systems-level research-based practices, commitment to supporting students’ mathematics achievement through leadership, commitment to supporting teachers’ professional knowledge of mathematics content and/or evidence-based pedagogical practices, innovative thinking focused on supporting teachers and systems through a change process to improve student outcomes, and  commitment to supporting systems-level implementation of data informed decision making.

Debbie has over 25 years of professional experience in education, having taught mathematics at the elementary, middle, secondary, and higher education levels. Since 2010, Deb has served as a Mathematics Coordinator for Midway ISD. In her role as coordinator, Deb developed and implemented many new training initiatives that engage and empower teachers to deepen content knowledge in order to make wise decisions about instruction.

In 2009, Deb was named as one of three finalists for Texas Secondary Teacher of the Year. While teaching elementary mathematics in Florida, Deb was named a state finalist for the President’s Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST), and currently serves on the Texas PAEMST review panel and as a mentor for PAEMST applicants. Deb is a member of the Spring Valley Elementary steering committee of Baylor’s Professional Development Schools and a member of the executive boards of three state organizations, Conference for the Advancement of Mathematics Teaching (CAMT), Texas Association of Supervisors of Mathematics (TASM), and Central Texas Council of Teachers of Mathematics (CTCTM). Deb has written items for both ESTAR and MSTAR universal screeners and diagnostic assessments for algebra readiness, as well as articles in Texas Mathematics Teacher.

The award was presented to Debbie by Dr. Leanne Ketterlin Geller, Ph.D., the director of RME at SMU.  RME’s mission is to cultivate positive change by educating and empowering teachers and administrators with evidence-based practices and systems to support mathematics achievement through academic growth and development of all students.


Perry_6 Perry_1


1 Comment

Click here to post a comment
  • Deb, congratulations on this well deserved honor!! I am so glad you are still receiving the accolades that you so richly deserve!
    Gail Howerton