Commitment Excellence

Spirit of Midway


Midway High School students have dedicated more than 6,645 community service hours to the Waco area this school year alone through the Spirit of Midway program.

Students are chosen for the Spirit of Midway award through a rigorous application process. Freshmen through seniors are eligible to receive this award by maintaining a grade of 80 or above in all courses for the fall semester, actively participating in at least two MHS extracurricular activities, and completing 15 hours or more of community service. For 2015-2016, 443 students received the award with the corresponding letter jacket patches. 58 of the seniors have earned the Spirit of Midway designation all four years of high school.

19 of the students are using the Spirit of Midway program as a jumping off point towards the 30-400 hours required by the United States Congressional Award Program. The Congressional Award requires substantial dedication to Volunteer Public Service, Personal Development, Physical Fitness, and Expedition/Exploration.

The 2014-2015 Spirit of Midway breakfast honoring Midway High School students’ volunteer and community leadership efforts was held this morning at First Baptist Church. MHS’s new head football coach and boys’ athletic coordinator Jeff Hulme was the featured speaker of the event, emphasizing the importance of family, faith and future for these dedicated young adults.

The Spirit of Midway award is sponsored by the Midway High School PTA and the Midway ISD Education Foundation.

Spirit of Midway 4years

Four-Year (senior) Recipients of the Spirit of Midway award are:

John Alexander

Nirupama Ancha

Parker Anderson

Regan Baccus

Blake Becker

Keeley Brister

Clark Buchanan

Jackson Burns

Kassidy Buth

Kate Castle

Natalie Chamness

Jacob Clafferty

Chandlar Coskrey

Landry Coupe

Christopher Curry

Mollie Deaconson

Brooke Dixon

Laura Dreiwitz

Alyssa Driskill

Ben Earles

Sam Glaesmann

Drew Gochis

Jake Graham

Gillen Graves

Annie Griesemer

Haley Groves

Anna Kate Gunn

Hunter Harris

Stieler Harris

Tanner Henry

Madeline Ho

Tooba Ikram

Hannah Johnson

Maya Johnson

Austen Kaul

Samantha Landon

Miles Langerman

Wade Liescheski

Olivia Madison

Samantha Merrifield

Madison Mikeska

Macy Milam

Emily North

Madison Pietsch

Samuel Richards

Camille Roberts

Taylor Romig

Rachel Rork

Sierra Sabido

Lauren Shaw

Riley Shero

Matt Shillinglaw

Jackson Smith

Nathan Smith

Sophia Vick

Alexandria Waitley

Madeleine Young

Briana Zimmerman



Registered Congressional Award participants:


9th grade

Dillon Dixon

Emma Focarile

Victoria Logan

Jenna Romig


10th grade

Calvin Atkinson

Grant Graves

Sarah Hall

Andy Kanz

Hayden Landrum


11th grade

Caroline Goodnight

Colby Janecka

Cassidy Nemec

Katherine Vieregg


12th grade

Jackson Burns

McKinley Dockall

Gillen Graves

Samantha Merrifield

Evan Mock

Taylor Romig