Midway Names Local Journalists to Media Honor Roll

Each year, the Texas Association of School Boards provides school districts across the state with the opportunity to honor local media representatives and thank them for their balanced reporting of news about public schools. 

Superintendent Dr. George Kazanas (far left) and trustee Susan Vick (far right) with members of the 2022 Media Honor Roll: (from left) Baylee Bates, Julie Hays, and Josh Young.

Midway ISD is proud to recognize Baylee Bates, KCEN-TV news reporter, along with Julie Hays, KWTX news anchor, and Josh Young, KWTX general manager, as members of the 2022 statewide Media Honor Roll for their fair and accurate reporting on school news and the accomplishments of our students and staff.

The Media Honor Roll is a program sponsored by TASB that calls attention to the ongoing responsible and exemplary nature of reporting that informs much of the community’s knowledge about public schools. 

“Districts across Texas appreciate these reporters for their balanced and accurate approach to sharing both the challenges facing our schools and the successes achieved by local teachers, students, and school boards,” TASB president Ted Beard said. “Their work aids local communities in focusing on the goal of providing the best public schools we can for every child.”

Criteria for the district selection included media representative’s efforts to get to know the superintendent, board president, and the district’s mission and goals; report school news in a manner that is fair, accurate, and balanced; give a high-profile to good news about schools; visit the schools; and maintain a policy of no surprises by sharing information with school representatives.

Midway ISD greatly appreciates the hard work of these dedicated journalists and their contributions to local public education.