Midway Administrators Earn Regional Honors For Outstanding Leadership

Recently, two Midway ISD Administrators were selected for professional honors commending their dedicated leadership and exceptional service.

Region 12 TEPSAN of the Year

Hewitt Elementary School Principal Christy Watley is being recognized as the Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association Region 12 TEPSAN of the Year.

Members from the 20 TEPSA Regions across the state annually honor a colleague for their outstanding service, and Watley was chosen as one of 20 school leaders statewide to receive recognition from TEPSA for her leadership and professional contributions.

“These leaders are working harder than ever to serve their students and staff, yet they continue to support and advocate for educators in their region,” TEPSA Executive Director Harley Eckhart said. “We’re honored to recognize their tremendous work and servant leadership.”

TASSP Region 12 High School Principal of the Year

Horizons Principal Dr. Valerie Willis was recently named the 2022-2023 TASSP Region 12 Outstanding High School Principal of the Year. She was selected to represent the Texas Association of Secondary School Principals as a regional Principal of the Year based on exemplary performance and leadership.

Dr. Willis was chosen from among campus-level administrators from the 20 regional Education Service Centers across Texas. School administrators are nominated and chosen by peers within their regions for TASSP Principal of the Year honors. 

As a Region 12 winner, Dr. Willis is eligible to compete for the state title of Texas Principal of the Year.