2018 Hall of Fame Inductees

Congratulations to Kolby Kilgo, Kenna Kilgo, 2010 State Softball Champions, and Coach Tim O’Leary!

Kolby Kilgo

Kolby is being inducted as an Outstanding Tennis Athlete and State Champion.  Kolby competed on the varsity level beginning as a freshman in 2006.  He was voted All District Doubles all 4 years of high school competition and 3 years all district in singles.  Furthermore, Kolby was a Doubles District Champion as a freshman, Region II Semi-finalist as a sophomore, State Runner up as a Junior and State Mixed-Doubles Champion as a senior.

Throughout Kolby Kilgo’s high school career he was a 4 year letter winner, received all-state honors twice, 4 time all region and played 4

years at the University of Texas @ San Antonio where he received a 2nd Team All-Conference and 1st Team All-Conference honors in the Southland Conference.

Kenna Kilgo

Kenna is being inducted as an Outstanding Tennis Athlete and State Champion.  Kenna Competed on the Midway Varsity Tennis team from 2008-2011.  During her high school career she earned All-District, All-Region and All-State each of her 3 years.  Kenna was Class 4A State Runner up in Mixed Doubles in 2009, Class 4A State Doubles Champion in 2010 and Class 4A State Singles Champion in 2011.

Kenna graduated from Midway High School in 3 years and attended Texas Tech University where she was a member of their Tennis Team.  During her collegiate career, Kenna was a Big 12 Champion in 2012 and 2013, a 3-time All Big 12 Doubles player and won 3 singles and 4 doubles tournaments.  In addition to her outstanding athletic career, Kenna was a 2-time All Big 12 Academic member, made the Dean’s list twice and the President’s list.

Kenna is currently serving as an Assistant Tennis Coach for the Women’s’ team at Iowa State University.

2010 State Softball Champions

Next we have 2010 Class 4A State Softball Champions.  The 2010 team continued the rich winning tradition of softball at Midway High School, making it the Pantherettes’ 8th trip to the state tournament and earning the program’s 2nd State Championship!  The team, led by Legendary Coach Sherry Rogers, assisted by Chad Kimberling and Judd Marking was 36-5-1 on the year in route to the 4A State Championship.  The 2010 team finished the state tournament by beating Denton Guyer High School 7-0 in the semifinals and Magnolia High 1-0 in 8 innings for the final; capping off the state game with Coach Rogers’ 486th career win and the Class 4A State Championship.

The team was led by 6 State Tournament All-Tournament Team members, C-Kelly Schaeffer, 1B-Aubrey Fredlund, 2B-Makenzie Robertson, 3B-Valerie Ramirez, SS-Monique Miller and P-Kermetria Ward named as Tournament MVP with 15 scoreless innings pitched, giving up 2 hits and throwing a no-hitter in the final for only the 11th time in UIL softball history.  The team had a historic playoff run scoring 27 runs to 6 against with 7 shutouts.

Coach Tim O’Leary

Coach O’Leary arrived at Midway in 1983 from Hardin Simmons University where he is a member of the Hardin Simmons University Athletic Hall of Fame.  He came to Midway High School to begin the soccer program from the ground up.  From the moment he stepped foot in Waco he became a community leader for the growth of the sport in our area.  To say Coach O’Leary hit the ground running would be an understatement.  During his first year of competition the soccer program won a District Championship, Bi-District Championship and Area Championship.  These championships were precursors to the many victories and championships Coach O’Leary would bring to Midway High School throughout his career that spanned 29 years as Head Coach.

During his 30 years leading the Boys’ Soccer Program….Coach O’Leary amassed a career record of 535 wins, 108 losses and 40 ties.  Winning 78% of all games played and 23 district titles. Additionally, Coach O’Leary led teams to 3 Regional Semi-Finals and 3 Regional Final appearances.  In 2002, Coach O’Leary’s team won the 4A State Championship.

Coach O’Leary was honored as Super Cen-Tex Coach of the Year 3 times, District Coach of the Year 20 times and State Coach of the Year as well as Regional Coach of the year in 2002.